Our faces are drooping and our spirits are low. We are leaving Atlantic City with less than we came with. On our way there our hopes were so high and our dreams soared. We planned to take a Limo home and shop in one of those very expensive shop. We were convinced one of us would win.Walking in to the slot machine filled room our excitement rose. The chorus of cha-chings and drumming of the dice enticed us to come in. Our luggage still draped across our shoulders, we could hardly wait. We practically ran to the elevators. We were dressed and ready to go in ten-minutes flat. Everything was a sign. If I saw a penny on the floor next to a vacant slot machine that was the one I needed to play. If I thought of a number and saw it flashing on the board above the roulette table then that is where I needed to be. I was not going to mess around with fate. I was being beckoned, I was sure I would win. The calling was there but luck took up and ran off the moment I answered the call. I slid my twenty in the money vaccum attached to the machine. Trying to trick the machine I would take turns pulling the handle then hitting the maximum bet button. My money was dwindling and if I didn’t hit soon I was already down. Still I stayed optimistic for two more spins. When I started digging into my purse for the next twenty my inner voice was reprimanding me. I gave in and walked away. Over to the roulette table. Numbers kept popping in my head. I had sixteen chips and the table consisted of thirty six numbers. I almost had a fifty fifty shot to win. I even put it on the double zeroes in case the house win they didn’t take my money. So much for a fifty fifty chance-the ball rolled around the glass,hopped a few numbers and teased with a few more. Finally it came to a stop in one of the numbers I didn’t play. Now I start thinking, Oh my gosh I have to win back that money I just lost. But I never did. Now it’s check-out time and we are ready to go. We are no longer optimistic. We are disgusted and tired and mad ourselves for even coming. We walk up to the elevators and wait for that lonely trip down. We wait and wait and wait, until the elevator door  slowly opens. We move forward to get on and then instantly stop. The elevator is completely filled. There is a man in a wheel-chair who smiles sympathetically at us. The door closes and we wait again. Three grey-haired fragile looking women walk up behind us. I tell them “It’s going to be a while.”  I turn back around and wait for the elevator. “Let’s just take the stairs, it’s only twenty flights,” I overhear one of the woman say. She nuts, I think. The bell rings and the light goes on and the door slowly opens again. It is the same elevator that came beforehand but instead of now going up it is coming back down. The man in the wheel-chair smile  and chuckles could be heard from the other occupants. By this time we are so mad we become giddy. We watch the grey haired ladies and walk away. I think aloud-God bless them, you know we will definitely make it down before them. We hear the rattling of the elevator coming and jump up from the luggage we have been sitting on. Again, the door slowly opens, but this time it’s unbelievable. The man in the wheel-chair is still front in center. But his face is now blocked by the body of the woman who decided to go in but not turn around. So instead of seeing the grin of the man in the wheel-chair. We were now being mooned by a faceless woman. The door shut and we were just about to take the stairs when we heard another bell. On a whim I turned around and was pleasantly surprised to see a vacant elevator. We ran inside and burst out laughing. What we just witnessed couldn’t be real. The doors opened into the lobby and as we were about to step out, the three grey haired ladies whizzed past us.

