Loyalty, it’s an impressive word. We all strive to be loyal to something. Whether it’s religion, family, friends or ourselves it’s something we aspire. I have always taken pride in the fact that I honestly believe I am a loyal person. Loyal to my religion, family, friends and at most times myself. Lately, I came to realize there is a fine line when dealing with loyalty. Sometimes staying loyal to one thing means another suffers therefore lacks loyalty. You have two friends, you love them both but they don’t love each other. You do your best to be the mediator and hope to make them see the other’s point of view. Knowing the whole time what the other person actually thinks of the person you are talking to. So who are you being loyal to? The friend outside of the conversation because you are not releasing information she trusted you with. Hmm, here’s the question-what about the friend you are talking to? Are you being disloyal to her by not telling her what another has said? I will speak for myself when I state it is best to be neutral. But how can loyalty and neutral work together. You could listen but not contribute, that leads to withholding information. There are two evils here. If you tell friend A what Friend B said you are betraying the confidence that was entrusted. If you don’t tell friend B what friend A said you are betraying the trust that is assumed. In the end it is yourself that suffers. The burden of truth has been bestowed upon you. As much as you would like to think you don’t take sides, you realize you play both sides. Does that make you a better person or not?  When I say both sides, I don’t mean you talk about friend A with friend B. It’s about the guilt you feel- but shouldn’t that you get along with both.  

