It’s that time of year. The heat from the sun is suffocating and back yards are filled with screaming kids. You need a break from the heat. Something that will cool you down and calm down the kids. Hmm, what could that be? A pool you say? No not a pool. Shade? Getting close but not quite. I’ll give you a hint. It requires standing in line and making a choice. Okay, I made you wait long enough. Ice Cream! Summer is not summer without a visit to your local ice cream parlor. The options are endless. There is something for everyone and every taste. Chocolate, Vanilla, or maybe a twist. If you are the daring kind and like adventure, you could opt for the dips. They come in all flavors. The kind that harden before the girl hands them over. The coating cracks with the first lick and melts deliciously into a wave of flavor. Sugar cones, waffles cones, pretzel cones all make delicious edible dishes for your ice cream. If you’re not into soft ice cream there are flavors galore in the hard ice cream category. A few of my favorite are butter pecan, mint chocolate chip and of course pistachio. I guess I’m most easily tempted by an ice cream of a different color. When your not in the mood for a traditional ice cream you still have options. Milkshakes, malts, italian ice,slushies, chocolate covered strawberries or banannas and the very popular gelato are all fun selections. For me nothing can beat a sundae. It’s a bit of everything thrown in one dish. You can custom make them to fit your cravings. I know flurries, blizzards and all these chilly named mixes come close, but they are not the same as a sundae. Where I live there is an old fashioned ice cream parlor. It’s opened all year long. So whenever my desire for my special sundae pops up I can take a short drive to fullfill my yearning. Although I’ve considered many times to try a different sundae I stick with my old trusty favorite. Are you ready, it’s a doozy, I made it up myself. Well not completely but I did alter it. I think I have made the girls cringe many times when I stepped up to the counter to place my order. I have it down pat and the words roll off of my tongue perfectly. “I will have a… Chocolate marshmallow pecan sundae, with extra pecans and dusty road topping please,” Without fail each time, the girls eyes widen and her mouth drops and then I remember I forgot the most important thing. “I’m sorry but can I also have extra whip cream.” I hate that I have to make someone else want to run when they see me coming. But, my sundae has to have all of the above to merit my consumption. Unless it’s perfection the calories or the pound I gain will not be worth it. Okay now the fun begins. I told you mine now I want you to tell me yours. Leave a comment and let me know what your favorite treat is at the ice cream parlor. Is it a Bananna Split, or a Chocolate Peanut Butter milkshake? Whatever it may be post it here. Everyone and Anyone is welcomed. The more the better. Help make this a fun read. Enjoy the rest of your summer and hope the lines aren’t too long at your favorite ice-cream joint.

