Thirteen Things about MaribethHalloween is approaching and I have costumes on the brain. I have always loved to think of costume idea’s, I usually start thinking the day after Halloween what the next years will be. I came from a family of seven and Halloweens most consisted of Hand-Me-Downs or homemade costumes. The homemade ones were always my favorite and my parents did a great job at creating interesting get-ups. Tonight I am writing thirteen costumes I could remember wearing.

1…Gypsy-Loved,Loved,Loved this costume (so much that my daughter is being a gypsy/fortune teller this year) My mother wrapped a scarf around my head, dressed me, in a long black printed skirt, wrapped a shawl around my shoulders and gave me a black mask that only covered my eyes. It was my all time favorite.

2…Wizard-Yes I know, I’m a girl but still I made a great Merlin. I think this was a purchased costume. But it was way before Harry Potter existed. Thought the beard was cool.

3…Old Woman-I wore an old dress of my mother’s with a babushka wrapped around my head and some grandma looking loafers. My younger sister was the Old Man. We definitely made a funny pair.

4…Bunny-I remember this costume Hung in a closet in my brother’s room. It was one piece and very comfortable. I used to play dress up with the bunny costume long after Halloween was over.

5…Geisha Girl-My father went to Korea on a business trip and brought us home Kimono’s. I tied my hair up with chopsticks and painted my face white. I’m not even sure if a traditional Geisha wears a white face, I think I just look for reasons to paint my face on Halloween

6…Country Bumpkin-Seniors were able to dress up on Halloween day in my High-School. A friend and I wore straw hats, flannels, boys’ jeans and painted freckles on our face with black eyeliner. Easy costume to put together but definitely sweet and cute.

7…Dorothy-It took me forever to get the shoes right. I carried a stuffed doggie in a basket-I rented this costume.

8…Clown. The classic clown suit with the rainbow colored hair and striped one piece suit. I always love to paint my face for Halloween so this was definitely up my alley

9…Fifty’s Chic-A girlfriend and I wore lettermen jackets and our hair in ponytails. We had one of our guy friends dress in a t-shirt, leather jacket and slicked back hair. We were cool :0

10…Joker-I borrowed this costume from my sister-in-law, I had the jester hat, big shoes and a painted on grin that couldn’t go unnoticed.

11…Skeleton-My sister is very artistic which has come in helpful when looking for a face or a costume to be painted. She took a black sweat suit and painted the bones on it. Head to toe, front to back. I had her paint my face to match and I was set to go.

12…Seventy’s Chic-My husband and I went as a couple from the Seventies. I wore bell bottoms, a really high fur hat, wedged heals and lots of psychedelic make-up. We rocked! :0

13…Hobo-Okay; I’m starting to ask myself why I didn’t dress in more girly like costumes. This was an easy one, I found an old beat up coat, fingerless gloves, a hat with earflaps. a brown bag(for my pretend alcohol)and I painted on a five o’clock shadow and some red cheeks to complete the look.
13…Okay I’m adding a second thirteen because this was the best costume my parents ever came up with and I think it should be mentioned.The costume was made for my younger sister. My father took an old box from a T.V. painted it white and drew black dots on it. She was the cutest dice ever. To complete the look she wore a black beret, black sweatpants and black gloves. Clever,Clever,Clever

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!
1. (leave your link in comments, I’ll add you here!)

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

