It’s Friday again. Time for another song. This week I really love Linkin Park’s Shadow of the Day. When I originally started Friday’s song I said sometimes I love a song because of a lyric. I love the line the sun will set for you.

After reading through the lyrics my analogy is that this song is about a person battling an illness. As much as the family and friends wished the person they loved would stay, it would be their passing that would be merciful.

The message in the video is a bit different than my interpretation.

I have a friend dealing with a dying grandparent as I write this. This song for me symbolizes the pain she is enduring watching someone she loves die.

Do you have a song this week you would like to share? If so leave us your site and we will visit.

Do you have a different analogy of this song? If so leave it in the comments.

Linkin Park

The Shadow of the Day Lyrics 

I close both locks below the window
I close both blinds and turn away

Sometimes solutions aren’t so simple
Sometimes good bye’s the only away

[Chorus]
And the sun will set for you
The sun will set for you

And the shadow of the day
Will embrace the world in grey

And the sun will set for you
[End Chorus]

And cards and flowers on your window
Your friends all plead for you to stay

Sometimes beginnings aren’t so simple
Sometimes good bye’s the only way

[Chorus]
And the sun will set for you
The sun will set for you

And the shadow of the day
Will embrace the world in grey

And the sun will set for you

And the shadow of the day
Will embrace the world in grey

And the sun will set for you

And the shadow of the day
Will embrace the world in grey

And the sun will set for you
[End Chorus]

