We all have a demon. Something or someone lurking inside of us begging us to go the wrong way, do the wrong things or make the wrong choices. What the demon tempts us with may differ but his intention is the same, he wants us to fall. After reviewing some of my writings, I stumbled upon something I wrote a long time ago. It’s a bit dark but it came from within.

I’m not even sure where I would market a poem like this, so I thought I would paste it on my blog.

When the demon strikes, strike back by refusing to give in to the temptation being dangled in front of you.

The Demon

Please help me

My mind is consumed

With images of you

I blink, scream,sleep,

Try to erase the view.

A minute, a second, a year

My soul is shaking, I have changed

I scream out, save me, I live in fear

A moment has passed, I tried to think,

Of something else, something right

You are the quench of my thirst

I must take a drink, but I won’t

I can’t, it’s poison, it will instantly kill

The life I have been living,

Why am I seeking this thrill?

The demon is axing away, chopping

At my very core, laughing, haunting

Tempting with no sign of stopping.

He takes on an innocent form

Waving behind you, commanding the storm

Only when I am left crying on the floor

Knowing I destroyed me, will he shut the door.

