On Friday, I will be surprising my son’s kindergarten class, I am the guest reader scheduled. I have decided to read the students the story Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. It is his favorite book and I thought it would be a fun read for the children.

Two years ago, I surprised my daughter’s kindergarten class and read The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. I am not a crafty person but I was proud of the tree I made out of a coffee can. The teacher loved it so much she asked if she could keep it. I filled the can with lollipops and handed the kids notepads as a special treat, explaining paper was made out of trees.

For my son, I want the day to be just as special, I am heading to the craft store to buy some stuff to make a monster. I have an idea of what I want to do; I will be using a coffee can once again. However, I’m a bit stumped on what the treat should be, should I do cupcakes and make little monster faces out of them? Does anyone out there have a creative suggestion for a monster treat? If it were Halloween, the possibilities would be endless. Besides a bunny that looks like a monster, I’m not finding what I am looking for.I am going to bring in lunch bags and have the children make monsters out of the bag, fun right?

Moments as these are what make me love being a mommy, I love knowing that my son’s face will light up when I walk into the classroom. Before I know it, he will be asking me to drop him off at school a block away.  Then I will become like the monsters in the book, pleading with him not to go, because I love him so.   

