Thirteen Things about MaribethI collect something for all of my children. For my oldest daughter I collect Fairies (because I am an angel collector, when she was born I thought it would neat to start a collection for her. Fairies have wings too, so that is how I decided on her collection.)
My son’s collection is snowmen. He was a chubby baby and loved the snow so I decided on Snowmen
My third child/daughter loved a giraffe blanket when she was a baby. She could not fall asleep unless she had her giraffe covering her. Therefore, I decided to collect giraffes for her.
When my fourth daughter was born recently I wondered what I would collect for her. For whatever reason, elephants came to mind. So, I decided to collect elephants for her. Ironically, after scanning through my e-mails I discovered that the last e-mail my father sent me was of an elephant drawing a self-portrait. Elephants are unique animals and even though they are giant creatures, there is something gentle about them.

This week I listed 13 facts about elephants. I also included the you tube segment on the painting elephants.

1…. Elephants typically reach puberty at thirteen or fourteen years of age

2…Elephant trunks can get very heavy. It is not uncommon to see elephants resting them over a tusk!

3…Elephants cry, play, have incredible memories, and laugh

4… The Elephants Trunk has more than 40,000 muscles and no bones

5… There are 3 species of elephants- The African Sevanna, The Asian and the African forest elephant

6…The bottom of an elephants foot has a pattern that is individualistic (much like a human’s fingerprint)

7…They are the largest living land animal

8…Male Elephants are called Bulls and Female Elephants are called Cows

9…Baby elephants are called calves and could weigh 200 pounds at birth and stand 3 feet high

10… Jumbo the Elephant was an African Elephant

11…An elephant may live as long as 70 years

12…Dumbo was ridiculed for his big ears but he showed everyone when he was able to use his ears as wings and fly.

13… Elephants can not jump

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

