Thirteen Things about Maribeth
With four kids, a husband and two dogs life is guaranteed to get hectic at times. Chaos is what I know. I have had people ask me on many occasions, “How do you do it?” My answer is always the same, “There is a place in my mind that I go when life becomes frantic. I run through a field of flowers with a bandanna wrapped around my head, the sun is shining, birds are chirping and I am singing (okay so I’m singing off-key but no one could hear me so who cares). However, before I could run too far something always happens to jerk me back into reality, like tripping over a sneaker and falling flat onto my face while taking the bowl of cereal that I slapped off the cupboard in mid-fall with me.

Sure, there are days I envision jumping off a bridge rather than running through a field of flowers. It’s on those days that I remind myself that one day it will be the chaos I miss.
This week I will list thirteen daily guarantees with a family of six.

1…The garbage can seems to always be full

2… The dishwasher fills up very quickly. (Even with a dishwasher, the sink still accumulates dishes)

3… You can do three loads of laundry a day and still have more.

4… There is someone always hungry. (Despite the fact they just ate)

5… There is always someone thirsty (You pour one drink, sit down to do something and then someone else advises that they are now thirsty too.)

6… There is a spill at least once a day (Last night I salvaged the cheez-its my children left out in the rain only to have them fall out of the cupboard onto the freshly vacuumed floor minutes later)

7… Arguments are happening at all times (I was sitting there, I was watching TV first, Mom said it was my turn on the computer. Note to mother’s, it’s usually moments like this that I try to find my field of flowers)

8… There is never enough hot water for everyone to get a bath or shower (showers and baths must be spaced out over a few hours.)

9… There is always a mess somewhere (Trying to keep a tidy house with four kids is like trying to keep an up-do in a wind tunnel)

10… There are always too many lights on. I am constantly switching off lights to try to conserve energy.

11… Something always goes missing (like a homework assignment or a test that needed to be signed.)

12… Hugs and kisses happen constantly (This guarantee I like)

13…Everything will happen all at once as soon as you get the phone call you were waiting all day to receive.

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

